Thoughts on Pregnancy and Beyond

I wanted to write a little about my pregnancies.  I’ve been comparing them, somewhat, and thinking about how different they have been.

Pregnancy with Garrett:

1.  Very nauseous, pretty much the entire time.

2.  Incredibly exhausted a lot.  I was working full-time, at a very busy doctor’s office, so I’m sure that had something to do with it, but I remember being so tired I’d almost fall asleep at work.

3.  Hot!!  I was so hot all the time.

4.  Hungry all the time!!  Meat and cheese were all I wanted to eat, didn’t care about sweets at all.

5.  I had a lot of respiratory infections, while I was pregnant with Garrett.  Not fun at all. I started getting allergy shots as soon as he was born to help make this pregnancy smoother.

6.  My hair was a lot dryer.  Before pregnancy I had to wash it every day or it would get greasy.  When I got pregnant with Garrett, it got so dry I started washing it every other day.

7.  My leg hair stopped growing towards the end of my pregnancy.  That was awesome!!  I only had to shave once a week.

This pregnancy:

1.  Only had morning sickness from about 6 weeks to 10 weeks, and then just sporadically after.

2.  Haven’t felt as tired.

3.  Definitely not as hot as I was last time.

4.  Haven’t been as hungry.  I haven’t had a lot of specific cravings.  Sweets sound good a lot of the time, though.

5.  I haven’t had any respiratory infections with this pregnancy.  I did have a very nasty fungal infection in my lungs though.  Also not fun.

6.  My hair has been even drier this time.  I only wash it once or twice a week.

7.  My leg hair stopped growing as fast, a lot earlier.  It’s so wonderful!

My mom was very sick when she was pregnant with me, and not nearly as bad with my sister, so I sort of expected that to be different this time.  I also think a lot of it has to do with not working.  I’m not driving to and from work each day, not dealing with office drama, and not as busy.  Sure Garrett keeps me on my toes, but it’s a lot more relaxed here than it was at work.  Haha!  It makes me a little sad to think that maybe my pregnancy with Garrett could have been a lot more pleasant if I hadn’t been working.

I don’t really have a specific birth plan.  I was very pleased with how things went last time.  I had thought about trying to go without an epidural this time, but then I think about how relaxed I was when I started pushing.  It was a very pleasant experience.  So, we’ll see how things go.

Things I want to do different:

1.  I want to try to get more sleep in the hospital.  With Garrett I was too excited, and I felt guilty for sending him to the nursery, so I didn’t get a lot of sleep while I was at the hospital.  This time, I think I’ll make more of an effort to get more sleep.

2.  I want to start a soothing routine right away.  We want to read Goodnight Moon to the baby before naps/bedtime, just like we do with Garrett, swaddling, shushing sounds.

3.  Don’t let the baby get over-tired.  This was our #1 mistake with Garrett.  We sort of followed his lead for naps, and he ended up staying up too long (or all day) and getting over-tired.  Small babies shouldn’t be awake for more than two hours at a time.

4.  Don’t let my breast milk supply get low!  I had supply issues, pretty early on with Garrett.  Fenugreek and brewer’s yeast, helped a lot, but I eventually dried up when he was 10 months.  I’d really like to breastfeed the whole first year, this time.  I’m going to try pumping after every feeding, even at night, to ensure my supply doesn’t get too low again.

Things we did last time, that worked well:

1.  Started trying bottles early.  Garrett nursed wonderfully from the beginning.  He actually had a tiny bit of milk in a bottle the day we got home from the hospital.  As long as this baby is latching well, I’d like to try giving her a bottle early again.

2.  Co-sleep if it helps.  When we were trying to get Garrett to sleep better, he slept in our bed for a little while.  We bought a Snugglenest, which elevates their head (can help with reflux) and has a ridge around it, so you can’t roll over on the baby.  It helped me not worry about him being in our bed, and it made it easier to soothe him back to sleep when needed.  We’re going to try the crib first, but if we need to, the Snugglenest will be ready.

3.  When I’m still in the hospital, Mike is going to go home at night to sleep.   He’s going to put Garrett to sleep at night while I’m in the hospital.  I’m hoping that will help keep things a little more normal for him.  Plus those beds for the dad’s look awfully uncomfortable, and he might as well sleep while he can.

4.  I’m going to bring regular clothes to the hospital.  It made me feel more normal wearing regular clothes, instead of the hospital gown.

5.  Freezer meals!!  I made a bunch of meals and put them in the freezer.  It was very convenient to have when we didn’t feel like cooking, or had company over.  I’m guessing it will help out even more now.

These are just our plans.  We’ll see how things work out.

Leave a Reply

