Cloth Diapers

I have used up all of my diaper fabric, finally!!  We have 5 newborn, 6 small, about 2 dozen mediums, and 7 large diapers all together.  They are working pretty well for us.  In addition to the ones I made we’re going to try prefolds with covers.  Right now we have Gerber prefolds, with a Flip cover.  A friend is having a diaper party in August and I plan on getting a couple more.  So far we really like this method.  It’s very cost efficient.  The covers are the most expensive part at $13ish dollars a piece, but unless they get really dirty you can wipe them off and reuse them.  We’re going to start with about 3 covers for each baby and see how that goes.  We don’t use cloth diapers at night, or when traveling, so I’m hoping that will be enough.

2 thoughts on “Cloth Diapers

  1. Elena says:

    I’ve been thinking a lit about cloth diapering but I don’t know the first thing about it. What r the benefits of it besides cost? Why did you decide to that route?

    • Verna says:

      We mostly decided to try it because of cost. They also make less waste, and some babies can be allergic to the chemicals used in disposibles. I really enjoy it, though. You end up with a little more laundry but it’s really not bad once you get used to it. Let me know if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

